Week 2 – Theology…Culture; Cobb, Chp. 2

Although I have never been able to articulate it, I agree with Eco’s assessment of our icons begotten of icons.  We no longer see reality as the object to which these icon’s point to, for they point to icons preceding itself.  I even have remarked of it myself at times:  “dosen’t this landscape look surreal?”  “Don’t those clouds look like a painting?”  Reality has now become secondary, even if it at one time was the point with which we began producing the icon.  I was additionally inspired by the adbusters art; I wonder if Jesus would have been involved in posting the artfully done iconic rebellion in high visibilty places, or if that behaviour of counter culture is a bit to rebellious and unloving of neighbor.  If it becomes determined it jives with the Kingdom, who’s in?

~ by Brian Shope on January 17, 2008.

4 Responses to “Week 2 – Theology…Culture; Cobb, Chp. 2”

  1. I like it. Life has become a meta-fiction, probably propagated by an inevitable process spurred into life with expanding technology, especially that of media’s many mediums.

  2. Count me in 🙂

  3. Brian, I responded to your post over the weekend. It was great meeting you this past week in class. I’ll probably sit up front again, but in case I’m late… save me a seat in the back.

  4. I wonder how this hyperreality plays into the way we think about the kingdom?

Leave a comment